Oregon workers are getting a bump in the minimum wage but will also pay a new statewide transit tax. Workers in the Portland area on Sunday saw the minimum wage jump to $12 per hour, or a 75-cent increase. While workers in Marion and Polk counties got a 50 cent bump as the rate increases to $10.75 per hour, in more rural parts of the state employees got a 50 cent increase to $10.50 The Legislature in 2016 approved a set of increases in the minimum wage until 2022, when the wage will be tied to inflation. Oregon workers will now also pay a transit tax. The tax of $1 per $1,000 —will be withheld from workers’ wages. That tax took effect Sunday. It pays for public transportation projects and improvements statewide.
- October Our Town
Teri Grier Part One (caveat- Caddy McKeown could not be here for the interview that was initially scheduled as a forum. She was, however, invited and given multiple opportunities including an option of appearing via phone) Teri Grier Part Two Crow’s Quarantine Maze – Melanie Heard Coast Radio 30th Anniversary Angela- Great Pumpkin City Council […]