Pritchard Receives Lute Olson Award; Ionescu Named National Player of the Year

Pritchard Receives Lute Olson Award

Yet another award for the Oregon point guard Payton Pritchard.  Pritchard was named the Lute Olson Player of the year.  The award goes annually to the top Division 1 player and is administered by  Pritchard is the first PAC-12 player to receive the honor.  Pritchard led the conference in scoring and assists this past season and led the league with 88 three-pointers.

Ionescu Named National Player of the Year

For the women Sabrina Ionescu was named the National Player of the year by the united states basketball writers association yesterday.  Ionescu is the first Duck ever to win the award which is dubbed the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award.  Ionescu, yesterday, was also selected as a regional finalist for the 2020 Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Division 1 all-America along with teammates Ruthy Hebard and Satou Sabally.  The team results will be announced on April 2nd.