NW Sports from the AP

Here is the latest Washington, Oregon and Alaska sports news from The Associated Press


ARLINGTON, Texas (AP) – John Jaso drove in three runs, Jason Vargas pitched into the seventh inning and the Seattle Mariners snapped a five-game losing streak with a 10-3 victory over the AL West-leading Texas Rangers last night. Jaso’s two-run homer in the second put the Mariners ahead to stay on way to matching their highest run total this season. They scored twice with two outs in the fifth for a 4-1 lead after third baseman Adrian Beltre’s throwing error. The Seattle-Texas series wraps up tonight.

PORTLAND, Ore. (AP) – The Portland Trail Blazers have opened draft workouts with a look at two big men, North Carolina’s Tyler Zeller and Meyers Leonard out of Illinois. Zeller, at 7 feet and 250 pounds, is the more experienced, having played all four years for the Tar Heels. Last season as the ACC Player of the Year, he averaged careers highs with 16.3 points, 9.6 rebounds and 1.53 blocks per game. Leonard, at 7-foot-1 and 245 pounds, last season averaged 13.6 points, 8.2 rebounds and 1.88 blocks.

CHENEY, Wash. (AP) – Former Southern Methodist quarterback Kyle Padron will play for Eastern Washington next season. Padron passed for 5,902 yards and 41 touchdowns in 24 games at SMU before losing his starting job last season. Padron is the second consecutive former SMU starting quarterback to transfer to Eastern Washington. Bo Levi Mitchell led the Eagles to the national FCS title two years ago and won the Walter Payton Award last season as the top offensive player at the FCS level.

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (AP) – A former Anchorage resident is the new king of bowling. The Anchorage Daily News reports the Professional Bowlers Association has named 29-year-old Sean Rash player of the year. To earn the honor, the 2000 Dimond High School graduate earned $140,250 in prize money and posted an average of 228.13. Rash won over rivals Jason Belmonte of Australia and Mike Fagan of Dallas. The award was presented Monday in Chicago.


Copyright 2012 The Associated Press.