NW Sports from the AP

Date: 06/20/2013 05:29 AM

Here is the latest Washington, Oregon and Alaska sports news from The Associated Press


ANAHEIM, Calif. (AP) – The Los Angeles Angels edged the Seattle Mariners 1-0 last night. C.J. Wilson pitched two-hit ball for seven innings and Mike Trout scored the only run on a wild pitch by Joe Saunders. Wilson struck out three, walked two and allowed only two runners as far as second base en route to his fifth straight victory over the Mariners.

CARSON, Calif. (AP) – Robbie Keane hit the right post and Landon Donovan had three opportunities inside the Portland box as the Los Angeles Galaxy settled for a 0-0 draw with the Timbers last night. Portland extended its unbeaten streak to 14 matches with its third shutout in the last four. Donovan had all of his three chances in the first half, with all coming on through balls from Keane, but Timbers defender Pa-Modou Kah made stops in the box each time.

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) – Matt Boyd pitched a four-hitter and struck out 11 and Oregon State made a fourth-inning sacrifice fly stand for a 1-0 victory over Indiana in the College World Series last night. The Beavers now face Mississippi State tomorrow. The Beavers scored in the fourth when Kavin Keyes singled, went to third on Ryan Barnes’ double and came home on Jake Rodriguez’s sacrifice fly to right.

PISCATAWAY, N.J. (AP) – Rutgers and Washington State have agreed to play a home-and-home football series beginning in 2014. The two universities made the announcement on yesterday. The first game will be played in Seattle on Aug. 29, 2014, and it will be Rutgers’ first as a member of the Big Ten Conference.

PORTLAND, Ore. (AP) – The Portland Trail Blazers will open their NBA Summer League schedule on July 13 against the Phoenix Suns in Las Vegas. The NBA, which released the schedule yesterday, says Portland will then play the Lakers on July 14 and the Chicago Bulls on July 16. After those games, the Trail Blazers and the other 21 teams participating in Las Vegas will be seeded for a single-elimination tournament that ends with a championship game.


Copyright 2013 The Associated Press.