NW Sports from the AP

Date: 10/29/2013 04:59 AM

Here is the latest Washington, Oregon and Alaska sports news from The Associated Press


ST. LOUIS (AP) – Russell Wilson threw two touchdown passes to Golden Tate, and the Seattle Seahawks made a dramatic goal-line stand in the final minute to beat the St. Louis Rams 14-9 last night. The Seahawks were forced to punt with just over 5 minutes left in the game, but they managed to pin St. Louis at its own 3-yard line. The Seahawks won despite gaining just 135 yards of total offense, 80 of it on Wilson’s second TD pass to Tate.

VANCOUVER, British Columbia (AP) – Daniel Sedin scored the game-winner in the third period and added an assist as the Vancouver Canucks beat the Washington Capitals 3-2 last night. Zack Kassian and Ryan Kesler also scored for Vancouver. Roberto Luongo made 17 saves as the Canucks won their fourth straight. Jason Chimera, with a goal and an assist, and Mikhail Grabovski scored for Washington, which got 38 saves from Michal Neuvirth.

ST. LOUIS (AP) – Seahawks wide receiver Sidney Rice left last night’s game against the St. Louis Rams with a knee injury and was doubtful to return. He headed to the locker room without his helmet with the Seahawks leading 7-3 late in the first half. Rice was targeted three times in the first two quarters but did not have a catch.

SEATTLE (AP) – Washington wide receiver Kasen Williams is expected to miss the rest of the regular season and will undergo surgery today to repair a fracture in his lower left leg and an injury to his left foot. Washington coach Steve Sarkisian said yesterday that a timeline on how long Williams will be out won’t be known until after the surgery. Williams was injured in the first half of Saturday’s 41-17 win over California.

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) – Alabama’s Landon Collins, Oregon’s Ifo Ekpre-Olomu and Florida State’s Lamarcus Joyner are among the 15 semifinalists for this year’s Jim Thorpe Award, given to the country’s top defensive back. Three finalists will be named Nov. 25, with the winner announced Dec. 12 on ESPN. Other semifinalists for the honor include Washington State’s Deone Bucannon and Oregon State’s Steven Nelson.


Copyright 2013 The Associated Press.