Herbert Honored Again – Oregon State Players on Multiple Watch List

Justin Herbert continues to pile up the academic honors. The Ducks’ starting quarterback the last four seasons is the Division I CoSIDA Academic All-American of the Year.  Herbert was selected from all men’s and women’s sports sponsored by the NCAA. He is just the third Oregon student-athlete to claim the award, joining Bill Musgrave (1990) and Galen Rupp (2009).  A four-year starter, Herbert led Oregon to a Pac-12 Conference championship, earned MVP honors in a Rose Bowl win over Wisconsin and a 12-2 record. He also rushed for four touchdowns, including three in the Rose Bowl.


The Pac Twelve has yet to finalize the 2020 Football Season Schedules.  But Oregon State players are catching some looks already. Beaver junior Jaydon Grant and junior Isaac Hodgins are both on the watch list for the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy. The Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world.  Oregon State senior linebacker Hamilcar Rashed Jr. was recognized on national preseason watch lists for the Nagurski Trophy, given annually to the nation’s defensive player of the year.