NW Sports from the AP

AP-NW–1st SportsMinute,354
Here is the latest Washington, Oregon and Alaska sports news from
The Associated Press

PORTLAND, Ore. (AP) – Charles Odum scored 22 points, including
the go-ahead free throws with three seconds remaining, to lead
Portland State to a 75-74 win over Northern Colorado last night.
Michael Harthun had 14 points for the Vikings; Chehales Tapscott
added 12 points and eight rebounds. Portland State is the No. 3
seed in the Big Sky tournament that begins on Saturday and will
host sixth-seeded Montana State in the first round. Tate Unruh led
Northern Colorado with 20 points.

CHENEY, Wash. (AP) – Cliff Colimon scored 28 points to lead
Eastern Washington to a 77-64 victory over Idaho State last night
in a game where home-court advantage for a rematch in the Big Sky
tournament was at stake. Laron Griffin had 18 points and 12
rebounds for the Eagles, who are the No. 4 seed in the league
tournament that begins Saturday. They will host the fifth-seeded
Bengals. Chase Grabau had 15 points and nine rebounds for Idaho
State, and Kenny McGowen added 13 points.

PORTLAND, Ore. (AP) – After eight days off because of the
All-Star break, the Portland Trail Blazers will get back to work
tonight when they visit Denver. Portland is 18-16 and in eighth
place in the Western Conference, a game back of Memphis and a
half-game up on the Nuggets, after a roller-coaster first half that
was crazy even before it started due to the unexpected retirement
of Brandon Roy. After a 7-3 start raised hopes, Portland has gone
4-6 over the last 10 games. Denver is 3-7 in its last 10 games.

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (AP) – It’s a clean sweep for the University
of Alaska Anchorage women’s basketball team for league honors. UAA
says it’s the first men’s or women’s team in the 11-year-old
history of the Great Northwest Athletic Conference to take the top
four post-season honors. The list is topped by the league’s Player
of the Year, presented to Seawolf Hanna Johansson. UAA’s Haley
Holmstead was named Newcomer of the Year, and Gritt Ryder took
Freshman of the Year honors. And Tim Moser was named the Coach of
the Year, completing the UAA sweep.

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)

AP-NY-02-29-12 0530EST